Please, come in and have a cup of coffee or tea…

Bonjour

and come in quick!

This is a foul weather so do not stand in the rain and the wind. Last week, we thought it was almost spring: there had been a turn in the light, something intangible and frail – a transparency in the baby blue sky, a light with a powdery grain that was the very texture of the sun, a tinge of yellowy green on the trees, or od brighter russet, a new sparkle over the winter jasmine flowers, the candour of the swnowdrops, and the first shy little daisies. And now, all is gone and it is damp, soggy winter again. Leaden skies, fat drops of rain stopping only to give place to a continuous insinuating drizzle, pools of water in the fields, blasts of wind, splashes when the cars pass by on the road.

We have turned on the lights inside the house again and here they stay, all day long while we cough and sneeze, and have tears in our eyes. No real colds, only chills, weariness, despond. It is so dull.

So we are all happy to see you and to have some fresh news from the world outside our little world! Tell us: what is happening to you? Is the weather better at your place? What are you reading? What are you doing? We need our friends and their chatter to bring us some hope and joy. I shall make some tea or coffee. Meanwhile, please, tell me about you… Please!

23 thoughts on “Please, come in and have a cup of coffee or tea…

  1. It’s totally opposite here, Camille. Days of full bright sun, starry nights and gentle winds. Bit dry though but acceptable. Sadly, my phone’s camera is not working properly these days. Hence, I can’t show you how sunny it is here.
    Thanks for tea!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I see that your phone camera is working again properly: you have shown us lovely pictures of rising sun. But I always worry to how you can take pitures and drive! Do you stop??? Otherwise, please, do remember to be cautious: your life is precious for nots of people and your family first!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. 1. The photos I’m sharing on my blog are old. Camera didn’t worked until evening today. And when it did, I took about 200+ pictures 🙂
        2. I actually use carpooling with my office colleagues. The driver does the driving and I do what I love to do.
        3. Knowing that someone, whom I haven’t met, on the other side of the planet is worried about me, is something really special. And for this, I’m very much thankful, Camille! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. 200+ pictures??? Wow! I am flabbergasted. I hope some will appear on your blog.
        I am glad and relieved that you do not take risks while driving. Carpooling is also good for the climate and ecology. Great!
        Of course, I care! And I care about your family, your wife, your son, your parents, all. This may seem astonishing but it is the strength of the net and of blogging: we come to know others – even on the other side of the planet – and to care for them. I do believe in these links: they are the best way to understand each others and fight misunderstandings and wars. 🙂
        I care for the whole family I know through my fellow blogger and friend in Pakistan

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, many out of those 200+ pictures will be shown to not only you, but rest of the world.
        I’m so much honored to meet a friend like you, who not only appreciates but also motivates someone like me. This is what I will always be grateful for.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bonjour! I can never resist the promise of tea, you know. Whilst it has been quite stormy in recent days, today is calm and fresh, the hedgerows burgeoning with the promise of Spring and the sun trying its very best to shine. Things couldn’t be more cheerful – I have tea, biscuits and a book to write. Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and answering. Wow, a writer on my site!!! I do enjoy your “porter” blog. It is tea, books read and writing here as well even if the weather is less bad than it was. A little sunshine from time to time. But the wind is sharp and we are back to winter. No biscuits for us: we had the traditional doughnuts for Shrove Tuesday but these are denitely fattening and we need fasting afterwards. At least, fadting on biscuits! 🙂

      Like

  3. We also went from Spring to Winter. It was very warm and spring-like most of last week, and then it snowed on Friday. It snowed again yesterday and this week is going to be by far the coldest this year (so far). I’m talking -15 C cold. It won’t be above freezing for the next week 😦 I miss our spring like weather of last week…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, Trent! Welcome! I read your snow-filled posts and saw your dogs in the snow. No snow here,only rain, flooded fields and very high river ready to flood again – thankfully not the house as we are far enough from the river although we see it, and most of all well above its level. Lots of wind, sharp and cold. Of course, we must endure as it is still winter and we need this weather but, oh, for spring! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This weekend we are going to see the coldest weather of the winter so far. It will get down to -25 C! So I am ready for Spring too! It will be above freezing next week and we’ll see rain, but still….

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Minus 25 C! Let me tell The Girls and show them some pictures… This is worse than my friends in Moscow and almost as bad as when they are in their farm in the country for Christmas and the New Year. I hope you are warm inside your home and that the dogs appreciate it as well! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Here in Greece spring is in the air. Wildflowers such as daisies and anemones are out, as well as some tiny pink ones I don’t know the name of. My puppy was going mad this morning, running in circles and jumping over the grass which is higher than her. I hope it will inspire her to pee and poop outdoors rather than on the carpet (she hates the cold…)
    Sadly, there has been a horrible flu going around, which was passed on to me. I don’t usually get sick, even when the little ones sneeze on me, but this time I did. It affected my stomach and caused be to faint in the bathroom, necessitating stitches in the back of my head. I have been lying around, unable to eat, for days. I was advised to drink a tea made of diktamo, (dittany), a wild herb found on Crete. As I don’t suppose you have any, I will bring my own (kidding, I haven’t bought or drunk any yet, apparently it taste vile – while having miraculous anti-viral properties.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sorry to be so late answering: it has been a bad week here. But not as bad as yours. It must have been horrible to faint and hurt yourself so badly. When are the stitches removed? Are you feeling better? Can you eat again? Is the flu gone now?
      And more by curiosity, did you by the diktamo herbal tea?
      We have neither dog nor cat. We do not even have a goldfish. But The Girls are true cats who do not want to risk a paw out when it rains or when it is windy. They had to this week as the Shopping Lady came twice and I insisted they go with her. They cannot live inside all the time.
      Thank you for reading and answering. You are elcome every week for the weekly coffee or tea or other drink. It should be on Saturdays to be linked with other bloggers but Saturday is often an awkward day for me. So, it may be any other time…
      Please, do go on with your posts from Athens and Greece. They are interesting and give us another view of the world less Europeo-centred: by this I mean, that geographically speaking, when you look as a map you make Greece the centre of your map, not France or the UK or Germany. Of course, it makes the vision of the world different: you are connected to other countries and other civilisations. It does us good to look at the world your way and forget ours for a while.
      This is why I wanted Hammad Rais from Pakistan to talk of his country on my blog. And I am often at loggerheads with Americans and British people: they cannot understand any other world. They are often closed upon themselves, their countries, their culture, their authors, their civilsation. And they want to rule the world. Stupid . As the French are stupid when they act this way!
      We need posts like yours. Urgently. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Green tea with mint (Clipper brand) is my drink of choice! It’s wild and windy here at the moment though reasonably bright. I am ready for spring…..

    Like

    1. I have Clipper liquorice tea. I am afraid the other mint tea that we have is gree tea with mint and liquorice and belongs to The Girls and is NOT Clipper… I hall have to order some of your favourite brand for you if you come back for the “weekly tea or coffee”. I may have some through Amazon.
      You are welcome anytime. Do bring books with you, if you wish and we shall talk about them and mine either in English or French or other language.
      By the way, I am sorry to annswer so late but the week was not too good at home. I hope next will be better!
      Still windy here with rain during the nights and in the mornings. The sun is very, very shy….
      Thank you for reading and answering: this is very kind. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Today was lovely and mild. We walked to the bridge and the river was running downstream to the waterfall. Last week it was below freezing and ice formed around the beaver dam in the nature preserve bringing the Queens River to a much slower pace. Who knows what tomorrow will give us here in New England? The torrential rains on Tuesday washed away the snow, allowing me to walk around my neighborhood without fear of falling on a patch of ice hidden beneath. I am hoping you’re feeling better, Camille, and I thank you for arranging my recent tour of Pakistan with Hammad Rais. Clare

    Liked by 1 person

    1. New England seems a frightful place where to llive when you are in a very temperate area. There is no snow here and the winters now are less and less cold. The climatic changes are really felt.
      No flooding anymore and the sun is shilly coming back. Temperatures are mild. And spring flowers are starting to make a proper display of themselves.
      Hammad Rais arranges other visits of Pakistan on his own blog. I try to reblog his posts then but going regularly on his blog is the best. He has a knack with pictures and words. I do enjoy his blog ad I like him as a friend online.
      Thank you for reading MY blog and commenting. This is very kind of you. I mean it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Camille, I woke up early this morning and spent time with you in France and with Jane (thank you for the introduction) on the Cornish Coast. (I left you a brief message about Mr. Selfridge.) Before leaving Europe and returning to Rhode Island to check on my own comment page, I was musing on how very interesting are the different fabrics of writing styles I am finding in visiting people who have come to share my own “simple, conversational”posts. I appreciate, enjoy and learn from them all. And I think it can be attributed to the same part of me that loves “frightful” New England and it’s changing weather patterns. Variety truly is “the spice of life” (and, unfortunately, thou aptly put, a cliche.) I will visit Pakistan with Hammed later this afternoon. (I really must get back to editing my mystery.) You are a very kind woman. Please give your girls a hug from me… Clare

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you very much! This is very kind of you. I shall try to introduce youto other bloggers like Jane. Most of the time, I reblog the blogs I like and tweet about them. Or I put themon my FB page. If you have a FB page yourself, you may find me under the name Camille de Malaret. The page is closed for friends only. But if you want to say that you are here and ask, I shall add you to my very few friends (38) with pleasure.
    Many thanks again. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

