A parable.

This post found on another fellow blogger may be inspiring for some of you.
I assume that many of you, my friends and readers, know about The Little Family and, most of all, about The Girls. You may imagine then how and why this “parable” is close to my heart and why I share it!

The playground

By Ray Menezes

At a fundraising dinner for a school that serves children with learning disabilities, the father of one of the students delivered a speech that would never be forgotten by all who attended.

After extolling the school and its dedicated staff, he offered a question:
‘When not interfered with by outside influences, everything nature does, is done with perfection. Yet my son, Shay, cannot learn things as other children do. He cannot understand things as other children do. Where is the natural order of things in my son?’
The audience was stilled by the query.
The father continued. ‘I believe that when a child like Shay, who was mentally and physically disabled comes into the world, an opportunity to realize true human nature presents itself, and it comes in the way other people treat that child.’
Then he told the following story:
‘Shay and I had walked past a…

View original post 963 more words

11 thoughts on “A parable.

  1. I have a disabled step son, he looks fine but is very much on the autistic spectrum and has depression. This story resonants a lot. Thank you for sharing, and on a sunny, spring like day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My young sister and my cousins both “suffer” from Down Syndrome and I am their “carer”: they live with me or I live with them and we are “The Little Family all three together. One of my brothers died from myopathy some years ago, when he was around twenty. So, when I read this story, on ThumbUp blog, it was important for me and I wanted to share it. But it is ThumbUp you should all thank for telling this true story first. I only reblogged it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

